Bananas Foster Cookies

Yesterday we got all the rest of my stuff out of the old place, so we are officially moved into the new apartment! I unpacked like a fiend and made real progress, and even got some of the plants repotted on the porch. But I must admit I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed, and when I get stressed, I bake.

This usually works out well for everyone, because I then have to find people to foist my baking on, or I”ll be as big as a house!

Yesterday I decided I needed to bake an original recipe I made up – Bananas Foster Cookies.

So, here’s a (really bad) photo. I’ll try to get better with the food photography.

IMG_3509

 

You don’t really need to glaze them. But if you do, they don’t need much. Please let me know what you think if you try them! I’d love to hear feedback – good and bad!

 

Bananas Foster Cookies

Yield: around 2 dozen

Ingredients:

  • 1 c margarine
  • 1 c dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 1 tbsp spiced rum
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and lightly spray one cookie sheet with cooking spray (or line with parchment paper).
  2. In a bowl, cream margarine and sugars.
  3. Add egg and mix until combined.
  4. Add vanilla, banana, rum, salt and spices and mix until just combined.
  5. With the mixer on low at first, add flour and baking powder. Mix until combined.
  6. Drop dough by spoonfuls onto prepared cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes until set and slightly golden.
  7. Cool on a rack or linen towel.
  8. Drizzle glaze over cooled cookies and allow to harden.

Glaze:

  • 1 c confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp half and half or milk
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tbsp rum

Mix all ingredients and drizzle over cooled cookies. If you do not wish to use rum, you can leave it out entirely or substitute 1 tsp of rum extract. You may need to adjust the amount of milk.

 

4 thoughts on “Bananas Foster Cookies

Leave a Reply

