Baked Egg Rolls…

Last night I decided that I wanted to cook. Eating out is great, but when you move, you end up eating out a lot. It gets to be…unappetizing. At least for me.

Therefore, on my way home from work I stopped at the grocery store and picked up several things to make egg rolls and stir fry. After I got home, I spent an hour unpacking the spare bedroom, which until now has been the dumping ground for all the boxes that aren’t unpacked. I wish I’d taken a before and after picture to show you. The fiance didn’t believe I’d unpacked everything. He’s convinced I’ve created a new closet somewhere that will kill whoever opens it. I told him I’d make it all fit. And I will. With room to spare. Just give me time.

At one point last night I had the thought that I should take photos while I was making dinner, but then I got distracted by the cucumber of doom outside and was sidetracked by that for a good five minutes and the thought was forgotten. We moved the other smaller cucumber, because the leaves are starting to yellow at the edges and I don’t want it transferring whatever it might have to the cucumber of doom, which is slowly trying to take over the world. I’m actually a little concerned it isn’t in a big enough pot, but I’m not sure how to fix that.

Anyway, back to dinner. I didn’t want to fry the egg rolls, but the package for the wrappers had directions for baking, so I figured I was good. They turned out DELICIOUS. I’d have taken a photo of the finished product, but the fiance ate the last one before I could get to my camera. He informed me those are on his top list of things to eat again, so next time I’ll take photos.

Here’s the recipe. You can adjust the measurements as needed – I’m guesstimating most of them, because I didn’t measure as I poured/chopped/etc.


Baked Egg Rolls

Ingredients

  • 1 pork chop, cut into thin strips
  • 1 c finely shredded cabbage
  • 1/4 c finely sliced onion
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp finely chopped garlic
  • 1/4 c grated carrot
  • 1/4 c finely sliced red pepper
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp mirin
  • 1/4 tsp season salt

Directions

  1. Place onion, peppers, ginger and garlic in a non stick skillet with a little olive oil. Saute until tender. (You can saute a little less if you like more crunch)
  2. Add the cabbage and rest of the veggies, as well as the soy sauce and mirin and cook on medium heat until the cabbage is mostly tender. Put the mixture in a bowl off to the side.
  3. Add a little more oil to the pan and cook the pork over medium heat. When the pork is almost done, add the veggies back in and a little more soy sauce if needed, and cook until the pork is cooked through.
  4. Let this cool slightly (I stuck mine on a plate and put it in the freezer while I cleaned up my mess and got the wrappers out) before filling the egg rolls.
  5. Place a generous spoonful diagonally on the egg roll wrapper. Flip the bottom corner over the middle of the mixture, fold in both sides and roll up, moistening the final corner to adhere.
  6. Place seam side down on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. I also line mine with foil to make cleanup easier.
  7. Brush tops of the egg rolls with olive oil.
  8. Bake in a 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.

 

This recipe makes about 5 – less if you like your egg rolls super full. The recipe is easily doubled or tripled to make as many as you need.


 

Let me know if you try this – I’d love to see what you think!

2 thoughts on “Baked Egg Rolls…

  1. When my hubby and I got married, he moved into my apartment with me. We lived there for four months after our wedding while our house was being built. When we moved in, our kitchen appliances were not in, they were on order. For two weeks we had no stove, oven or fridge. We ate out. That was 21 years ago. To this day my hubby does not want to eat out. We eat out maybe five times a year — and that is on the high side. If he had it his way, it would be ZERO.

    I just started making egg rolls a few months ago and love them. I have not tried baking them, but will definitely give that a try. Do you have a sauce that you make for them? Here in Michigan there is a sauce that I have not been able to find a recipe for or any suggestions that come close to it. It is something like a sweet/sour sauce but more oily. I’ve doctored up a few recipes for plum sauce and am getting closer, but it’s still not perfected. Another work in progress.

    Like

    1. vee1331

      I don’t have a sauce for them – at least not yet. We decided a duck sauce or sweet and sour would go well, so next time I make them we’re going to attempt that as well. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

