Wedding Preparations…

I swear, I had big plans to update this week. But coming home to my parents to get the many things that need done for the wedding took over. On the bright side, we’re making progress.

The fiancé came down yesterday and we spent some quality time going over the DJ list and we picked out a cake topper. For that we went in a cake supply shop-Party Cakes ‘N Things – on the other side of town that carries cake and candy supplies. We also bought the chocolate for the favors.

I love making chocolates and cakes. Every once in a while I dream about owning my own bakery or doing it for fun out of my kitchen or a rented commercial space. I don’t have the extra cash to do that, but its nice to think about. That cake supply place totally made me go back to those dreams. The pans! The CHOCOLATE MOLDS! I could have spent a lot of money in there. Really.

But, I got four pounds of chocolate, 2 white, 2 dark. Guittard and Merkens. My grandmother’s candy recipes always used Merckens and I’ve been dying to try it, but I’m unwilling to buy 6+ pounds at a time. This is the best solution, and their prices are reasonable.

I also have luster dust for the white chocolate pieces, and I used it lightly over the swirls on the dark chocolate pieces. I made about 130 pieces this evening, I’ve still got about 100 to go.

The chocolate melts SO much better than the Wilton or AC Moore stuff. Tastes much better too!
The chocolate melts SO much better than the Wilton or AC Moore stuff. Tastes much better too!
When it melts this smooth, its much easier to work with.
When it melts this smooth, its much easier to work with.
Pretty, right?
Pretty, right?

IMG_3546 IMG_3547I also worked on paper roses. They’ll be in all the bouquets, as well as the bouttoneires and the corsages. I need about 30+ in various sizes. But I think they came out really pretty. We won’t even discuss how many trips to the various area craft stores the supplies have taken. One will have one thing but not another… One thing didn’t work. Its taken 2 days just to gather the supplies.

But they look good, right?

All of this becomes roses!
All of this becomes roses!
Spray rose size for the mothers' and grandmother's corsages
Spray rose size for the mothers’ and grandmother’s corsages
These are for the boutonnieres.
These are for the boutonnieres.

 

We’re getting there… slowly but surely!

4 thoughts on “Wedding Preparations…

  1. ruralsuburbanite

    The chocolates are making my mouth water. 🙂 I never thought of using paper to make roses. They’re very realistic looking, and you’ll get to keep those. We had plastic flowers at my wedding, almost 21 years ago, and I still have the bouquet I carried. Fresh flowers are gorgeous, but it’s nice to be able to keep the bouquet.

    Like

    1. vee1331

      I love fresh flowers, but the paper ones came out even better than I’d planned! I must admit, part of the attraction was being able to keep them! (not to mention keep down the cost!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

