Refridgerator Pickles… and Disaster

At least the disaster part of the day wasn’t the pickles.

At least, I don’t think it was. Time will tell.

One of the local farmstands had some really nice looking pickling cucumbers for 1.49 a pound. Despite what’s growing at home, I decided I needed to make some fridge pickles at my parents house.

We’ll see what they taste like. I didn’t check my parents pantry before I started, and they have a signifigantly smaller spice collection than I do. So I improvised. We’ll see how that goes.

But, in case you want the recipe I normally use, here it is. You can double or triple the proportions to suit you for the brine. This is enough to make 2-3 pint jars.


Garlic Dill Refrigerator Pickles

Ingredients

  • 1 lb pickling cucumbers, washed and sliced into whatever size “coins” you like.

For the Brine

  • 2 c water
  • 2 c white vinegar (I always make sure I use 5% acidity for this kind of thing)
  • 2 1/2 T kosher or pickling salt
  • 2 T sugar

Seasonings
These measurements are per jar. You can add them directly into your sterilized containers before you pack in the cucumbers

  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped (I use one per jar, but you can add or subtract to taste)
  • 1 1/2 t dill seed
  • 1/2 t mustard seed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3-4 peppercorns
  • pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions:

Combine the water, vinegar, salt, and sugar in a non-reactive sauce pan on medium high heat. You want to heat it until the salt and sugar dissolve. (Watch putting your face over the pan. Vinegar steam is…unpleasant.)

While the brine is heating, wash the cucumbers, then slice, discarding the tops and tails.

Measure out your seasonings into your sterilized jars, then pack in the cucumber slices.

Once everything is dissolved in the brine, pour into the packed jars. Because you aren’t canning this, headspace isn’t quite as important, but I still try to keep it at 1/2″. Use a chopstick or end of a long spoon, try to get some of the air bubbles out. Then cap, and leave in the fridge.

Mine usually take at least a week before they’re really ready. I’ve heard it told that these will last months. Mine don’t usually make it that long, so I can’t tell you for sure how long it will last. If it looks or smells questionable, don’t eat it!


Let me know if you try it! I’m hoping the ones I’ve made to put here aren’t a disaster. I’ve tried something unusual with them because they are A) made without all the normal spices, and B) They didn’t make a huge amount, so I used a washed quart Chinese takeout container to put them in. My parents didn’t have any empty jars from the other stuff I’ve given them. (they need to eat faster!)

Here’s hoping it isn’t a disaster. I’ve had one of those tonight already – walking upstairs with my hands full, and my Nexus slipped, flipped open from its case and landed on my phone on the floor.

Shattered the screen, and now its not responsive.

Crappola. Definitely can’t replace that anytime soon.

 

One thought on “Refridgerator Pickles… and Disaster

Leave a Reply

