Week 1 in the 52 Week Recipe Challenge – Peach Salsa

So, if you don’t know, I’ve challenged myself to create a new recipe of some kind every week for a year. (with allowances for times when I’d cry if I had anything else on my plate.)

This is Week 1, and I’m presenting you with my recipe for Peach Salsa. It’s not something I’ve tried to can – I don’t think its got enough acid for that, but its quite tasty and does pretty well in the freezer (assuming you have any left!)

The pictures I took didn’t come out, so I’ll try harder for next week’s recipe with those.

 


 

Peach Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cider vinegar
  • 6-7 peaches, peeled and chopped
  • 1 medium sweet or white onion
  • 3 jalapeno peppers, seeded and chopped
  • 1 Hungarian wax pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red pepper (or green, if you like) seeded and chopped
  • 3 large tomatos, peeled, juiced/seeded, and chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

  1. Blanch and peel the peaches. This is the hardest part, in my opinion.
  2. Chop all veggies.
  3. Mix everything together and separate into containers. I think mine made about 4ish pints. I had someone helping me by taste testing as I went. A lot.
  4. Its good right then, but better if it sits in the fridge overnight.
  5. Enjoy!
  6. To be honest, I’m not sure how long this lasts in the fridge. It’s never made it more than a few days at our house.
One thought on “Week 1 in the 52 Week Recipe Challenge – Peach Salsa

  1. Sounds yummy. I made a batch of peach salsa in a canning class I taught last week – I might need to make some for the house too.
    Off the top of my head, I suspect you could can it, as it looks like you have enough vinegar to balance the low acid peppers & onions.
    I have a blog friend who once described peaches she had a hard time peeling as “a**holes”. Since then, I have to come to agree. They are a pain. But worth it according to my peach loving family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

