Week 2 in the 52 Week Recipe Challenge – Chai Tea Coffee Cake

If you don’t know, I’ve challenged myself to create a new recipe of some kind every week for a year. (with allowances for times when I’d cry if I had anything else on my plate.) This is just Week 2, and so far we’re doing okay. School is back in session (at least for us teachers) and my book comes out TUESDAY (WOAH!) so things have been really busy, but so far I’m managing to juggle okay.

If you’re interested in winning a copy of my book, stop on by my author site before August 31 – http://www.vanessabarger.com/blog/3-days-and-a-contest

But until then, here’s my Week 2 recipe – Chai Tea Coffee Cake! I know its probably not a good idea to call something made with tea a coffee cake, but the idea was to make a snack cake/coffee cake type thing. I leave it up to you which you think it should be called!

IMG_3970


Chai Tea Coffee Cake

Ingredients:

  •  3 cups of flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup chai tea (you can replace part with milk if you like)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

For Crumble (which is optional)

  • 1/2 c butter, soft
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 c  flour
  • 1/2 c + 2 tbsp quick oats

 

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 350 degrees, then grease and flour a 9″ x 12″ pan
  • I chose to try to boil down the chai to make it a bit stronger. You don’t have to do this, but if you want to, boil 1 1/2c chai tea latte mix with 1/2 c milk until it reduces by half.
  • Then cream sugar, eggs, and butter together.
  • Add the dry ingredients and mix, alternating with the chai mixture.
  • Pour into the prepared pan.
  • If you want to add the crumble (I did, but it doesn’t have to be there. I liked the little bit of crunch) Mix all those ingredients together, then crumble over the top – I have doubled the recipe here, because I did half that much and it wasn’t enough to suit me. Feel free to play with the amounts.
  • Bake for 30-40 minutes at 350 until golden brown and a tester or toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_3969

 

6 thoughts on “Week 2 in the 52 Week Recipe Challenge – Chai Tea Coffee Cake

    1. vee1331

      Thanks! Let me know how it turns out!!! I think I’m going to try it again and frost it instead and see what that’s like. (Instead of the crumble, though I like the crunch it gives.)

      Like

      1. Grace absolutely loves crumble. She told me that “everything” is better with crumble on it. I’m not always a big fan of it, but because she likes it so much I am definitely going to try that first. Frosting it though would also be good and I might leave a corner or two crumble-free just for me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

