Week 4 in the 52 Recipe Challenge – Apricot Asian Chicken

Really, I had great intentions when I started this 52 week challenge. And I will do it. Its just taking a bit longer than I planned. Life has gotten REALLY hectic lately, and I haven’t had time to tinker in the kitchen. That being said, last night I created a sauce for the chicken we were eating for dinner. Mainly, I realized we have TONS of partial jars of jam. Some brought to me by friends from overseas trips, some made by me, others I purchased for specific recipes or just wanted that flavor and never finished. I love jam, but I don’t really eat breakfast, so my eating of toast and jam is limited. I’m working on doing other things with it though. There may be thumbprint cookies in my future this weekend to get rid of some of it.

Anyhoo, here’s the recipe I came up with. You could add any veggies you like – DH said he thought mushrooms would be good in it next time, since I just used canned green beans since they were handy.


 

Apricot Asia Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1/8 c white wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 t dijon mustard
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 2 T apricot jam
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 t onion powder
  • 1/4 t ground ginger
  • 1/2 c water
  • S & P to taste
  • 1 chicken breast, cut into 1/2″ strips
  • 1-2 c veggies of your choice
  • 2 T olive oil

 

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, saute chicken breast in olive oil for two-three minutes. Add sauce mixture and veggies, then water. simmer for 20 minutes on low, stirring often. (I covered it and wandered away for a bit, then came back and removed cover and upped the heat to reduce the sauce.)
  2. If you want a thicker sauce, add 1 t of cornstarch to 1/8 c of water and add to the skillet. cook for a few minutes, stirring until thickened.
  3. Serve over rice.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment