Week 5 in the 52 Week Challenge – Apple Crisp

I wish I could tell you that I made this because I just had a few apples sitting around after canning Apple Pie filling. But, sadly, its because all the filling I canned…well… it exploded. I might have overpacked the apple slices in my jars juuuust a little. I’ve learned my lesson. Next year I’ll do better. But on the good side, it was delicious (or so I was told – I don’t like apples.). Another bonus for me was that I spent last weekend canning chai tea jelly, apple pie filling, apple butter (easiest ever – cooked it overnight int he crockpot and canning it was a cinch!) and then canned hot pepper mustard  from my aunt’s recipe. its DELICIOUS. I’ll post that for next week’s recipe. (I know, I know, combining weeks, but I haven’t exactly done well keeping up with the weeks.)

I must apologize, work has been nuts and last week, well, last two weeks were not the best. I’m hoping things look up soon. Really hoping.

Anyway, I am in charge of the “faculty life” committee at the high school where I work. This is really a sunshine committee, but we call it something different. Anyway, I’m kind of a one woman show. My committee is small and my members remember sometimes, but…yeah.

So i used one of the jars of filling and made crumble for the top and they must have liked it, since they pretty much licked the pan AND the spoon clean! (hence the reason there’s no photo. I was going to take a photo at lunch – it was gone already!)


Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 1 qt Apple Pie Filling
  • 1 c flour
  • 1 c oats
  • 1/2 c butter or margarine
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 c brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 and spray a 9″ x 13″ pan with cooking spray.
  2. Pour in your filling.
  3. In a mixing bowl, combine the other ingredients. You can use a fork to cut in the butter, but hands work best! Once it holds together loosely in clumps, just break up the crumble over the top of your crisp. I prefer a lot of crumble, but you can add as little or as much as you like.
  4. Bake 30-45 minutes until golden.
2 thoughts on “Week 5 in the 52 Week Challenge – Apple Crisp

  1. Siphoning is common with apple products. It’s recommended when your timer goes off for your processing time, turn the heat off, remove the lid of the pot and let the jars sit for at least 5 minutes before removing from the pot. It should help.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

