Homemade Lip Balm!

This weekend I decided that it was time to try the next thing on my list – homemade lip balm!

My order from Mountain Rose Herbs came on Friday, so I’ve been looking over the internet at all the different lip balm recipes. For the most part, they’re all pretty similar.

In the end, the beeswax took longer than I expected to melt, but the whole process was super easy, and I wonder why I’ve never tried this before! For the price of a couple tubes of chapstick, I made about 10, pls three experimental lotion bars.

WIN_20141004_132829
I recommend making sure you’ve got everything together BEFORE you start. It makes life a Lot easier!

But here’s what I did to make the lip balm.

First, you need a kitchen scale, though you could probably just use a measuring cup and make sure they’re even measurements.

WIN_20141004_132812
Sorry for the quality – camera died so I’m improvising with the tablet camera.

I measured out one ounce of beeswax, coconut oil, and shea butter. The beeswax and coconut oil I put in a saucepan I’d decided to sacrifice to the joys of crafting earlier in the day (mainly because I didn’t want to have to worry about food and wax and how many times I’d have to clean it). You turn the pot onto low heat and let things melt. It took a lot longer than I expected. At the end, I put in the shea butter, as I’d seen many places online that it can get grainy if it overheats.

WIN_20141004_132817

Once everything is melted, you can add any essential oils or flavorings. I added about a tap of honey, and some vanilla. My vanilla didn’t really mix in, but next time I’m going to add some orange and peppermint candy flavoring. I know you can use essential oil, but I’ll feel better about giving it as gifts using something I know is food safe.

I found pipettes in the soap making section of Michael’s, and they were perfect for filling the chapstick tubes. You just pull the wax of the heat and then quickly fill the tubes. They’ll contract a bit when they cool, so you can fill them as much as you can.

WIN_20141004_135606

Once I’d filled all the chapstick tubes, I added lavender essential oil to the wax mixture and poured it into the candy molds I’d dedicated to soap and such. They smell good, and I think the lotion is probably very good for the skin, but I don’t care for the oily feeling that’s left behind – which is the reason I stopped using coconut oil as a lotion.

But here’s the recipe if you want to try it – I recommend it!


Homemade Lip Balm

Ingredients:

  • 1 oz beeswax
  • 1 oz coconut oil
  • 1 oz Shea butter
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 5 drops peppermint candy flavor or essential oils (optional)

Directions:

  1. Make sure all your materials are ready to go – once the wax is ready, you need to work quickly.
  2. Measure out your oils and wax. Put the beeswax in a saucepan over low heat. When its melted, add the coconut oil.
  3. Once both of these are melted, add the Shea butter.
  4. Remove from heat and then stir in honey and any flavorings or essential oils.
  5. Using the pipette (or if you have a container with a spout, pour) distribute the mix into your chapstick containers (it should make about 12).
  6. Let cool and then cap.
2 thoughts on “Homemade Lip Balm!

    1. vee1331

      I hope you enjoy it! Its really pretty good – though I don’t recommend the vanilla at all. Now that everything’s cooled, its totally separated out from the few tubes that actually got any. It also doesn’t need it. I kind of like the smell as is. But next time, definitely using flavoring. Let me know how it goes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

