New tasks at hand…

Whew! This weekend was a whirl. DH and I left Friday morning for a weekend of wedding festivities for one of my college roommates. I was a bridesmaid and the wedding was yesterday. It was a beautiful wedding, she was a beautiful bride, but I’m whipped!

But over the course of the weekend, I’ve come to a conclusion that is both good and bad. Life, work and house hunting are beginning to take their toll. (The wedding is over, so I can take that off the list!) I’ve been sick every day since last week. I know some of it is stress. The second I get to work I feel better, so I know some of it is just because I really, really don’t want to be there. But that’s not everything.

I was discussing everything with my mom, and she pointed out that I might be allergic to a preservative or chemical in some foods. I already make a lot of things, and I get much sicker when we eat out often, or eat things from mixes or boxes. It wouldn’t surprise anyone – I’ve already got sensitive skin, and I’m allergic to Splenda/sucralose.

So in the next couple of days I’ll be sitting down and making some meal plans and shopping lists, as my plan is to try and make anything/everything we eat from scratch for the next month. I want to see what happens, whether I still get sick, and if I do, whether it can be stress, a specific food or what.

If you’ve got any websites you’d recommend for recipes or tips, I’d be happy to hear them!

3 thoughts on “New tasks at hand…

    1. vee1331

      I’ll have to pay more attention. I don’t think so – my brother is severely lactose intolerant, so I’ve had LOTS of soy based products, and they don’t really seem to be the culprit. Still, its been awhile since then. We’ll see. Thanks!

      Like

  1. You should try keeping a food journal and make notes as to how you feel when you after each meal/snack. That might help you narrow things down a bit. You might still have to dissect the ingredients in what you ate, should you continue to have issues with made from scratch food, but it would be a start.

    Like

Leave a Reply

