Crock Pot Beef Broth

Homemade stock is amazing. It tastes good, its healthy, and it makes the house smell delicious. This is a quick way to make yourself some broth. While this recipe says it is for beef broth, you can make it with chicken instead – just don’t brown the bones – or even ham/pork.

Preheat your oven to 375°F and put your bones in a roasting pan. Put in the over for 20-30 minutes. You just want it brown – don’t worry about cooking it.

Put chopped vegetables (onion, celery, garlic, carrots) and flavorings into the crockpot, and when the bones are browned, transfer to the crockpot as well.

I poured some warm water into the bottom of the roasting pan and used a wooden spoon to scrape off all the browned bits from the bottom, them poured into the crockpot. It had a lot of fat, but I’m going to skim that off anyway, so I wasn’t worried about it.

IMG_5042

Pour in filtered water until everything is submerged. If you’re like me, you have to remind yourself to leave extra space so it doesn’t overflow. Not that I’ve done that multiple times or anything. Nope. Not me.

Add your apple cider vinegar and give it a stir. I’ve read many places that the vinegar helps to draw the minerals and gelatin from the bones. I don’t know if its true or not, but I haven’t noticed a change in taste, so I do it anyway, just in case.

I put mine on high for about 4 hours, then on low for another 10, or overnight. I’ve been known to stick a wooden spoon under the lid and put it on high a few extra hours to try and reduce the liquid a bit too.

Once its ready, I strain out the veggie bits and bones, then I use a fat separator to try and separate out most of the fat. Mine is small, so it takes a little effort, but I like it better that way. You could always pour it into a bowl and let it cool, then just skim off the solidified fat.

I’m just too impatient, I guess.

IMG_5043

I’ve seen online where some people take the discarded veggies and put them in the composter. I can’t say I recommend that (unless you were making veggie stock) since there are bits of meat and bone mixed in.

The end result is delicious, and can be pressure canned, if you wanted. That’s a project I’m saving for another time, with a lot more stock. For now, I’ll save mine quart in the fridge to be used in French Onion Soup later this week.

Crockpot Beef Stock

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 10 min prep, 12 hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 pounds beef bones
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 2-3 large carrots, roughly chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, crushed or roughly chopped
  • 6-12 whole peppercorns
  • pinch salt
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3-4 celery ribs, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F, and place beef bones in a roasting pan. Brown bones for 20-30 minutes, until they are deep golden brown.
  2. Chop vegetables and place in crockpot with peppercorns, salt, and bay leaves.
  3. When bones are brown, remove from roasting pan and transfer to crockpot. Place 1 cup warm water into roasting pan and use a wooden spoon to scrap fond from pan. Pour into crockpot.
  4. Pour filtered water into crockpot until beef bones are covered. Add in 1/4 c apple cider vinegar, and cook on high for 4 hours, then on low overnight.
  5. Strain broth and discard solids. Can be frozen, canned, or used immediately.

Leave a Reply

