Easy Breakfast on the Go – Egg Cups

As part of my meal planning, I knew I needed an easy, filling, portable breakfast. I leave for work at 5:45 AM, but its far too early for me to eat. So I take it with me, or forget and then stop at fast food on the way.

Since fast food isn’t in the budget, and I’m trying to lose weight, I decided to try and make easy to carry egg cups. (I also had about 3 dozen eggs leftover from cookie making, but I digress…)

IMG_5070

The whole thing is so easy its kind of ridiculous. I preheated the oven to 350°F and then sprayed a muffin pan with cooking spray.

I used 14 eggs, but 12 would be better for one muffin pan – a few of the cups were a little overly full. I cracked the eggs in my giant pyrex bowl with a spout, poured in a couple tablespoons of milk, about a teaspoon of pepper and a couple big pinches of salt, and a handful of grated leftover cheese. In the future, I’d probably put another handful of cheese (or two).

Then I beat everything well with a whisk, and poured into the muffin cups. I went pretty full – about 1/4″ from the top. IMG_5073

Then I popped them in the oven for about 18 minutes. They’ll be puffy when they come out, but they’ll deflate as they cool. IMG_5074

I bagged mine up and then put them in the freezer in preparation for next week. Once I get to school I can pop them in the microwave for a minute and they’ll be ready to go!

You could do all kinds of variations on this – add some salsa for a southwest flair, put in some veggies to give it a little extra oomph, more cheese… even a little bacon and sausage (definitely on my list for next time). What would you add?


 

Easy Egg Cups

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 12 eggs
  • 2 T milk
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 c (or more) grated cheese
  • salt to taste
  • cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray.
  2. Beat eggs and milk together until well beaten. Add in other ingredients and stir.
  3. Pour beaten egg mixture into muffin cups, almost to the top.
  4. Bake 15-20 minutes, let cool in the tin. Remove from the tin (you may need to use a knife to loosen from the pan) and eat or freeze.

2 thoughts on “Easy Breakfast on the Go – Egg Cups

  1. What a great idea. I can use this for Zeb before he leaves for school in the morning or send one with Grace when she heads off to class. I think I’ll add some ham, onion, green pepper and possibly a little hash brown to make it like a Western omellet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

