Chia Pudding Experiment

I was walking through the Whole Foods bulk section (which is my favorite part of Whole Paycheck… uh… Foods) and I spotted Chia seeds. Now, beyond the fact that I was continually singing chi-chi-chi-chia! in my head, I’ve seen a lot of things around the web and food literature about how they are the new superfood.

I must admit, my first reaction was to laugh. I mean, how can something that makes creatures grow grass hair both be nutritious and taste good? Seriously.

But since it was in the bulk foods, and I was feeling adventurous, I bought a scoopful. I had no idea what to do with it, but I bought it.

All the foodies out there know how that goes, right? Right?

But I came home and realized that the pudding recipes sounded interesting, and I bought a LOT of chia seeds, considering those recipes take about 2-3 tablespoons each. That’s what I get for impulse purchases.

IMG_5075

So after looking through all the information online, I decided to start with the chia pudding. I looked through some recipes, and being that I can’t leave well enough alone, I decided to concoct my own recipe.

IMG_5076

I put three tablespoons of chia seeds in a fancy cup (cause that makes it all taste better, right?) and a couple teaspoons of honey, with 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla. IMG_5080

It was also a great excuse to use some of my honey bought on our Honeymoon (hah!) when we stopped in Savannah. I love, LOVE the Savannah Bee Company. This isn’t my favorite of their honeys, but it is very tasty. Then again, they don’t make much that isn’t tasty.

IMG_5079

Then I mixed it up. And realized I’m an idiot, because honey doesn’t dissolve in cold liquid. So I poured it into a microwave bowl, nuked it for 30 seconds, and stirred the (now dissolved) honey in.

IMG_5083

Then it was just time to pop it in the fridge and wait. I did pull it out and give it a stir about an hour after I put it in, just because when I got in the fridge for something else, I noticed that there seemed to be a layer of seeds on top and at the bottom.

In the end, it had a nice, smooth texture, a little like crunchy tapioca. I’ll definitely be trying this again, with different flavors. Next time, I think I’ll try it with the chocolate almond milk in the fridge.

IMG_5084

 

Leave a Reply

