Vegetable Tagine

I pulled out my tagine, which has been languishing in a closet for longer than I care to remember. So long that I had to go look up the seasoning directions, because its unglazed clay and it hadn’t been used in years.

After spending some time making our apartment smell like hot clay and olive oil, the tagine was ready!

As part of my trying to lose weight and eat healthier, we’ve declared one day a week to be meat-free. Tonight I decided to try a vegetables only tagine. And bread. Because that was healthy. Oh yeah.IMG_5140

The french bread was delicious, even if it didn’t rise like it should have (probably cause its so flipping COLD). So was the tagine! I will say, I didn’t really measure my spices, so what’s listed in the recipe are more like guesstimates. Feel free to change, add, or omit as you like! Next time, hopefully I’ll have harissa to add to it as well. I had to throw out several of my more specialty spices a while ago because they were a few years old. (i.e., I was moving and looking for things to get rid of so I didn’t have to move them.)

My apologies for the photos. We were hungry, so they were a bit of an afterthought.

IMG_5142

Vegetable Tagine

  • Servings: 3-5
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 potatoes, diced
  • 1 small turnip, diced
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/8 tsp season salt
  • 1/8 tsp allspice
  • 2 pinches cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 2 pinches savory
  • pinch ginger
  • 1 tsp tomato paste
  • 4-6 tbsp olive oil
  • couple tablespoons water
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Put 4 tablespoons in bottom of tagine, with burner on low to medium low heat.
  2. Add veggies, then add spices and tomato paste. Stir well until spices coat everything.
  3. Drizzle top with another tablespoon of olive oil. If it looks dry, add a few tablespoons of water to the tagine.
  4. Cover with the lid and let cook 25-35 minutes, until all veggies are tender.

Leave a Reply

