Date Rolls

I discovered that I like dates. This is an achievement for a girl who didn’t eat much in the way of fruits and veggies up until five years ago. I’ve made a real effort to try more and see what I like.

I also discovered that they’re even better if I stuff a walnut inside. I really, really like those!

When I was walking through the store the other day, I saw date rolls in the produce section, and thought they looked pretty good. But they were more than I was willing to pay, and when I saw that they really only had three ingredients, I figured I could make them at home.

IMG_5157

They are tasty, really easy, and I will probably make them again. Though in a pinch, I’d just shove a walnut in one and eat it.

IMG_5159

I brewed some tea, put about 6 dates (this was a test batch, so I didn’t make too many) in a bowl with about 3 tablespoons of brewed tea. I let them sit for about 15 minutes. While they were soaking, I put the walnuts in the oven at 350 to toast them a little. Mine were a little darker than they should have been, but they were still good.

IMG_5158

I put the dates and a half a handful of walnuts in the food processor and pulsed it until everything was a paste. Then I scraped it into a bowl.

I dumped the rest of the walnuts into the processor and pulsed it so they were chopped. I poured these into a separate bowl.

Then you just roll the date paste into a ball or bar, and then roll in the remaining walnuts. Eat and enjoy! Mine only made about four balls, but they were delicious. I will store them in the fridge, though I don’t know that you need to. Give them a try – they are pretty delicious!

IMG_5160

Date Rolls

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

  • 6 dates
  • 3 tablespoons boiling water/tea
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, roasted

Directions:

  1. Put boiling water and dates in a bowl together and let soak 10-15 minutes.
  2. Roast walnuts at 350°F for 5-8 minutes. (watch them so they don’t burn!) If you smell them, that’s a pretty good indication they’re ready.
  3. Put 1-2 tablespoons of walnuts and dates into a food processor and pulse to a paste.
  4. Roll the paste into balls and roll in remaining walnuts.

 

Leave a Reply

