Honey Tasting? Sweet!

20160131_142604

20160131_142238

Yesterday the husband and I went to the Silver Hand Meadery in Williamsburg, Virginia. I found a Groupon for a honey tasting there, and figured it sounded interesting.

I’m so glad we went!

The Meadery is near downtown, and they were so nice about the fact that we’d had to reschedule twice because of snow. (We were supposed to go two weeks ago.)

20160131_142415

The tasting was far more involved than I was expecting, and I thought it was really well done. The owner, Glenn, started off by explaining how the hive works, and passing around different parts of the hive, with honeycomb and capped honey and pollen. Very cool!

Then they had six small jars of honey, labeled 1-5 and “R” as well as wheels to help you identify the tastes and smells.

20160131_144311

We tasted six different kinds, but my favorites were the Star Thistle and Raspberry. The latter was almost like it had raspberry jam mixed in!

After we sniffed each of the jars, we were given a taste of each kind. Then they did a sampling of meads. Unfortunately we were a little too early to taste their meads (by just a few weeks), but they did three different Virginia meads.

20160131_142253

I actually enjoyed 2 of the 3 meads, which was a surprise, because when I’ve tried it in the past, I really, really disliked it.

After we tasted the meads, Glenn talked about their upcoming products, including how they named them. He was a touring musician for 12 years, and all their meads are named for songs, which I thought was a neat way to do it. We even ended up pre-ordering a bottle of “Dream by the Fire.” (It has cider in it – that’s all my husband needed to hear!)

We also left with two bottles of honey – a big one of star thistle and a smaller one of the raspberry.

If you’re in the area, I would definitely recommend stopping here if you’re in the area!

20160131_152054

 

One thought on “Honey Tasting? Sweet!

  1. I feel very ignorant here. I had no idea what mead was until I Googled it. Now it know! I’m not much for drinking any sort of alcohol, but I sure would enjoy the honey tasting part. Hubby would like the mead part, so maybe if they have anything like this in our area it could be a nice evening or afternoon out. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

