Exciting Things are Ahead!

The house purchasing is progressing,and so far we’re doing okay. That’s all I’m going to say about that, at least for now. I don’t want to jinx anything!

I’m also heading to the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival this weekend, which I am very excited for. And an awesome coworker had her son hunt a couple of extra rabbits for me, and I’ll probably get them this week at work. So expect a rabbit dish or two!

Right now I’m brainstorming for my garden plans for our new place. What I’m really looking for are any book recommendations you may have! I like the concept behind square foot gardening, and we’d like to plant a couple of fruit/nut trees, though we only have a quarter acre to work with, and there are already a couple trees.

In the meantime, I am going to have to get creative with meals, because I’d like to begin working through what’s in the freezer and cabinet. I’m afraid this is going to lead to some very…. interesting meals.

I’m also looking up big yard sale dates and flea markets, because I have a couple projects in mind, and we’re going to look for a bigger kitchen table. Currently, ours only sits two people (four if you don’t mind being REALLY close). Its a solid oak table, so its not leaving, but I’ll need to refinish the top and then put it in the guest room or something.

Do you have any tips for flea markets or yard sales? I’m not good at bargaining – but the BFF is, so if she’ll come along, I’ll take her!

2 thoughts on “Exciting Things are Ahead!

  1. Skip yard sales and hit up estate sales – that’s where the good stuff is.

    My go-to gardening books are Rodale’s organic books. I also spend a good bit of time talking to other gardeners to see what works/doesn’t work for them in addition to googling lots of things.Honestly, we probably get more gardening info from the internet these days than we do any books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. FreshlyGroundHome

      I turn to the internet for most gardening info lately, but sometimes its nice to have a book to consult as well. I’ll look these up. We also got a general fruits & veggies book that gives info on LOTS of things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

