Apple Salsa

While at lunch the other day, the husband asked if apples were ever used in salsa. I told him I didn’t know, but I’d happily experiment! So after an epic 3 hour lunch (the food wasn’t bad, but the service was SLOW – won’t go back again) we stopped at the grocery store and picked up a few things.

I actually really, really dislike apples in all forms. One spoonful of applesauce is all I can handle and I’m done for months. So I didn’t actually eat this – I fed it to husband. He said it was a fantastic dip, but it didn’t taste very salsa-y. I think next time I’ll use a jalapeno in here to up the spice, as the poblano had no spice at all, and I think it needs it. (I did dip my finger in to taste things a bit)

IMG_5260
Ignore the cat watching me on the left hand side. lol.

Really, its an easy recipe. You just put your ingredients together, chop them all up as finely as you like, mix, and eat! The flavors blend a bit when it has a chance to sit for awhile, so I recommend giving it a few hours, at least.

IMG_5262

Apple Salsa

  • Servings: 2-3 servings
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 medium sweet onion, diced
  • 1 small gala apple, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 1 roma tomato, cored and diced
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 clove garlic, finely diced
  • 1/2 poblano pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (alter the amount to your spiciness level)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c apple cider vinegar

Directions:

  1. Juice the lime and pour juice into a small mixing bowl.
  2. Peel, core and dice the apple, putting the diced pieces into the lime juice to prevent browning.
  3. Dice the remaining vegetables and add tot he apples and lime.
  4. Sprinkle the spices on, tossing the vegetables, then add the vinegar and mix together.
  5. Either cover the bowl and place in the fridge or transfer to a jar or container and let sit for a few hours or overnight.

2 thoughts on “Apple Salsa

Leave a Reply

