Sprouts and Spring!

I ordered seeds. I know, I said I wouldn’t. I lied. I want to garden, and knowing that there is a house in our very near future makes that urge even worse. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’ll probably still be in pots this year, but its okay, because they’ll be in a YARD, not a tiny patio that doesn’t get enough light.

One of the things I’ve ordered were alfalfa seeds to grow sprouts. Now, I’m the world’s worst when it comes to eating green leafy things. But I told my husband I would try to learn to like salad when I could grow my own. Every time they come on the news and say there’s been a recall of this or that at the grocery store, my desire to grow most of our food doesn’t seem so weird.

Now, in the abstract, I knew you eat all parts of a sprout – roots and all. I guess I hadn’t thought about the fact that in order to do this easily, you don’t grow them in soil. I don’t have a sprout grower – I followed the directions on the package, which said I could use a jar and some cheesecloth. These things I have!

I soaked them on Saturday night, as the directions said, and then drained them out. And that’s about it. Don’t put them somewhere in direct light, and every 12 hours (I did it in the morning and night) you rinse them with water and drain them out. They grow SUPER fast!

IMG_5271

Now its Friday evening – the time to eat the sprouts has come! I rinsed them, dried them, and they’re in the fridge waiting for me to be brave.

IMG_5277

Watching them grow has led me on some meandering thoughts though.

Thinking about our new house, which has little landscaping and no existing garden, I realized that part of the reason I love to garden is because you feel like you’re helping with something. You’re helping something grow – your family, the plants, the world around you. All of it is important and its provides a connection to the earth that I think most modern people no longer have and probably miss – even when they don’t know it.

I love the idea of the sustainability movement, because it helps people get back to their roots and to take a look at things in ways they hadn’t thought about. There are some things I’ll never be able to do (I did debate keeping chickens, but when I looked up the laws, we don’t have a big enough lot size to keep any chickens, according to our future county’s rules), but there are others I can try. I like the idea of beekeeping, mainly cause I love honey and beeswax, but I’m not sure I’d be the best beekeeper, and I’m not sure our new home is the best place to do that, as its not a huge yard. However, I can plant bee-friendly plants and attract them to the yard and given them something to eat.

The little things add up, and I am a firm believer that anything we can do to remove the steps between our food and our tables is a good thing. Not to mention it should save some money!

So I’m going to try sprouts this weekend. Maybe on a burger first. That’s a good way to start, right?

And if you have suggestions for good varieties of greens to try, I’m all ears. Lettuce and i aren’t friends. As I tell everyone, it just tastes like the color green, and I don’t like it. I refuse to eat iceberg at all, so that’s out. I’m hoping to try some butter head and spinach, and anything else someone suggests! Regardless of whether I like it, my husband or the bestie will always eat it!

8 thoughts on “Sprouts and Spring!

  1. Have you tried shredded broccoli? You can buy a bag of it at the grocery store and make awesome salads with it. We prefer it over cabbage for coleslaw, and if you mix dressing and cranberries, you’ve got a bonafide salad. Plus, i bet it’s great with sprouts. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m totally obsessed with knowing exactly where our food comes from, so all those grocery store horror stories make me feel like I’m completely justified in this obsession.

    I love growing greens – they are so easy! Except spinach – that always bolts on me, so I gave up regular spinach and only grow a variety that grows in hot weather (that isn’t actually spinach, but hey, I can grow it!). I love, love, love arugula. I always have a batch of it growing (just planted some more the other day!). I love it in salads, I cook with it, I make pesto out of it….love it. I also like kale, spicy Asian greens (which are great in salads when small and absolutely fantastic when bigger and cooked) and mesclun mix. There’s a super simple and tasty Italian pasta dish that uses arugula and canned tuna that I adore – I tend to use whatever greens I need to use up and last fall I came across a greens and white beans recipe on Food in Jars that you can use salad greens in that became a regular staple here. When I am able to keep greens in the garden (generally March – November/December), we tend to eat greens in some fashion several nights a week. And none of it is iceburg.
    As for bees, the state of Virginia has programs to encourage homeowners to keep bees. Totally worth looking into if you are serious about beekeeping. There are usually classes you can take as well to learn more about it. (I wrote an article on this a few years ago and am interested in beekeeping, but not quite there yet.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is great information! Thanks! I’ll definitely have to give some of these a try – and I hadn’t even thought about using some of it in soup. I love Food in Jars. She has some great recipes. I’ve looked at the beekeeping classes before. Its something I’ve thought about for awhile, but I’m not sure about it at all. Might have to take a class just to see how things work, at the least. I know sometimes beekeepers put their hives on farms where farmers want pollinators or just don’t mind (my aunt and uncle let a friend keep his on their property). So maybe that would be an option later on? Interesting thoughts at the least!

      Like

  3. So funny — I just grew bean sprouts and am trying to get to writing a post. Great minds…

    This was a fun project. I’m going to grow bean sprouts every time I plan on stir frying. I just have to make sure I give myself a weeks notice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

