Blackberry Pie

I have big plans for canning blackberry pie filling, but I must admit that I don’t like seeds in my blackberries. I have texture issues. Let’s just leave it with that. Its sad, really. I tried a plucot today and LOVED the taste, but I just couldn’t get past the texture.

But I digress.

Anyhoo, I decided to pull from several blackberry pie and cobbler recipes and create this pie filling. Its more like a custard, and I may add some tapioca pearls next time. I’m thinking it will be easier to just make this and then freeze it, since I can’t find a good recipe for filling that has the berries put through the food mill.

I made the pie crust first. Its really simple pie crust, and its delicious. This is my go to now. I’ve put the recipe at the end. I wish I could tell you where it came from, but it was given to me by a friend several years ago, and I have no idea where she got it.

The whole thing is done in the food processor – flour, salt, sugar, and butter go in, and you pulse it. The rest of the butter goes in, and you pulse again until it resembles sand with pea size bits of butter. Then you add 6-8 tablespoons of ice water and pulse until it all comes together. It won’t be tight – but you can easily mold it into a ball in your hands.

IMG_5714

IMG_5718
Be sure you use ice water!

Now, my notes say it has to sit in the fridge overnight. However – IF you use cold butter and IF you use ice water, and then put the dough in your pie plate and put it in the freezer while you prep your filling and preheat the oven, it will still be fine. Does it help if it sits overnight? Sure. But it will work as long as the dough isn’t too warm. If it is, the crust won’t be as flaky and won’t be nearly as good.

IMG_5719

After this was done and the dough was rolled out, I put the bottom crust in the pie plate, and the rolled top crust next to it, draping it loosely over the pie plate.

Then I pulled my thawed (well, mostly. Some were still icy) blackberries out and dumped them in a medium stock pot. I don’t like seeds in my blackberries, so my goal with this was to make it without. That means making a custard type filling. So I put a couple cups of water over the berries (enough to start to cover them, but still leave some exposed) and put it over medium high heat. I wanted it to come to the boil, and once it did, I let it go for about 2-3 minutes.

Then I used a food mill to run the berries through and remove the pulp and seeds. Really, I was all about getting rid of the seeds. It took a bit, but in the end, you’re left with the juice. Pour it back into the stockpot and put it over medium high heat. Add the sugar, butter, and salt, and stir until everything is dissolved. Once it comes to the boil, put 2 tablespoons of apricot brandy into a small bowl and mix in 4 tablespoons of cornstarch.

IMG_5715

Now, when I did this, I seemed to create oobleck or something and it was having a very hard time stirring, so I added a tablespoon of the boiling juice into it as well. Once its all well mixed, whisk it into the blackberries until it starts to thicken. Then pull it off the heat and add the nutmeg. If you want it thicker, add more cornstarch slurry to the filling.

Let the mixture cool, and when its room temperature, pull out the pie crust from the freezer, putting the top crust aside. Pour your filling into the shell and then preheat the oven to 375 F. While the oven is preheating, put the top crust on, cutting a few holes for steam. You could also cut it into strips and create a lattice on top.

Once the oven is ready, bake for 45 minutes. This pie is one that has to cool completely. In fact, you’re better off putting it in the fridge. Don’t eat it until it sets up. Take it from someone who didn’t wait. If you don’t, the middle will still be liquid, and you’ll end up with weird runny custard that tastes fabulous but doesn’t really work as pie.

IMG_5720

Seedless Blackberry Pie

  • Servings: 8-12
  • Time: 1 hr 45 min
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons apricot brandy
  • 4 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 4 cups blackberries
  • pinch salt
  • pinch nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Put the berries into a stockpot on the stove. I pulled mine from the freezer, so there was a bit of juice from where they defrosted, but I also added about 2 cups of water as well.
  2. Put the pot on the stove and bring to a boil, then simmer for about 3-4 minutes. You’re basically making blackberry juice.
  3. Put the juice and berries through a food mill or a fine sieve (use a spoon to push it through).
  4. Put the juice back into the pot and back on the stove over medium high heat.
  5. Add the butter, sugar, and salt and whisk in until melted and dissolved.
  6. Mix up the brandy and cornstarch in a separate bowl. I added a tablespoon of the juice mixture as well. You could use water instead.
  7. Let the juice come to the boil, then pour in the cornstarch mixture and whisk until it thickens.
  8. Remove from heat and let cool before pouring into the prepared pie crust. Cover with a lattice of pie crust, or with a solid crust. Make sure to cut slits into a whole crust.
  9. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes. let cool completely and top with whipped cream.

Pie Crust

  • Servings: 2 crusts
  • Time: 2 hr - 24 hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 2 1/2 c flour
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 c butter (cold and cut into cubes)
  • 6-8 tablespoons ice water

Directions

  1. Put flour, salt, and sugar into a food processor. Pulse to combine.
  2. Keep butter cold until use, and cut into small cubes. Put half in food processor and pulse a few times.
  3. Add remaining butter and pulse until mixture holds pea sized butter bits.
  4. Using ice water, add 6 tablespoons of water to the food processor, pulsing after each. Depending on the humidity, temperature, and etc, you may need more or less water.
  5. Pulse until mixture just begins to come together. To check, just try to pinch together the dough. If it will make a ball, you’re ready.
  6. Turn out dough onto floured board. Split in two (one recipe makes 2 crusts) and then shape into a flattened disc. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
  7. When ready to use, sprinkle board with flour and roll crust to desired thickness. Bake as recipe directions indicate.

2 thoughts on “Blackberry Pie

  1. You could easily can this recipe if you take out the corn starch and use Clear Jel instead. I don’t know that you’d need the butter but many jam/jelly recipes call for butter to cut down on foaming, so that should be fine for canning. It’s just a thought. I too don’t like the seeds in anything. Even strawberry seeds cause me to cringe and yet I push myself to eat strawberry jam. I’ve never thought of canning blackberry pie filling, but always make seedless blackberry and seedless raspberry jam. I call it jam because most of the pulp ends up in the jam and just the seeds end up in the bowl at the end of the food mill. If I get enough blackberries this year I’m going to try canning some of this. You’ve got my curiosity up now and it’s definitely worth a test. Another thought is that you could just can the blackberry pulp after you put it through the food mill. I do this with plum pulp every year so I have it on the shelf to use in lots of recipes. No reason blackberries wouldn’t work. Freezing is an option as well but I usually have more shelf space than freezer.

    Your pie looks great. I really need to try this crust. It seems so simple and yet it looks very flaky.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought about the sure-jell and trying it out. I’m not sure I’m confident enough in my canning abilities to try it though. If you do, definitely let me know how it works! I will freeze it for sure – we just got our small deep freeze, so right now there’s space. If you have to pick one to try, pick the crust. Its really tasty, and its really easy. Sometimes I add a bit more sugar when making sweet things, and a little less for savory, but there’s so little that it doesn’t make much difference for the savory things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

