Happy New Year!

I know I’ve been MIA for…well…. awhile. Let’s just leave it at awhile. My new job and getting settled in the new house kind of took over for a bit. And then I started my own little hobby business. But that’s coming later on in the post.

First, I hope you’ve all had wonderful holidays, and that 2017 has started well for you!

I don’t set new year’s resolutions anymore because I always found them to be a lot of pressure and a lot of guilty disappointment later. Instead, I set goals now.

My goals for 2017 are simple, but they are going to require a lot, A LOT, of work.

I started a small hobby type business last year. This year I really want to work at it and see if its something I can make into a real home business. This is important for a lot of reasons, one of which being that we are talking about having children, and we’d really like for me to stay home with them. Unfortunately, I’m not sure that’s actually feasible with the money we make. If I could make a home business that could help make up even a little of the difference, it might be possible.

And then there’s our talking about kids. But that’s not really a goal, its an ongoing thing. Yeah, let’s call it a thing.

I’m actively working on my writing. But for me, not for anyone else. I’ve been trying to be an agented, published author for the better part of half my life. I’m getting more and more discouraged, but writing is a hard business. So I’m taking a different perspective this year – I’m writing for me, and I’ll worry about submitting it and publishing later.

I want to eat better, make more at home, and lose about 100 pounds. That’s probably not going to happen this year, but I’m aiming for half that by next December. It ties in with something I have wanted but not worked hard at really for a long time. It is also more important because if we do have kids, I do NOT want to be pregnant and gain even more weight. I have a herniated disc, discovered about 2 years ago, and more weight REALLY won’t help my back pain. Losing weight will.

I have more goals than this – but these are the biggest ones. What goals have you been working on? Do you have suggestions for keeping yourself on track with those goals?

And, if you’re interested, my new business is called Lyebrarian Soaps. I make soaps, body care products, and greeting cards and sell through Etsy. This year, I’m hoping to go to some small craft shows as well, but I’m trying to figure out when and where at the moment. If you want to stop by and see what I’ve got, you can go to the website, lyebrariansoaps.weebly.com or my etsy store at etsy.com/shops/lybrariansoaps. I’m currently in the process of restocking (The holidays pretty much cleaned out what I had) but there will be cards up starting January 9, and more soaps and body products shortly.

I’ll be posting new recipes here, photos, musing, and adventures. I hope you’ll still join me as I get myself together for 2017!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Very ambitious! Good luck.

    I usually don’t do goals or resolutions for new years. This year though, I did put some stuff off until ‘after the holidays’, so I guess I’d better get cracking!

    Like

  2. Hey neighbor! It sounds like we have a lot of the same goals for the coming year. It’s so cool to see a fellow Etsy seller right here in Williamsburg; I think you’re the first I have ‘met’ haha! If you need anything at all, don’t hesitate to reach out. You never know, we could be best friends waiting to happen. 😛
    *big hugs!*
    Jess

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

