New Year, New Plan, New Budget

2017 has begun! This year, as I’ve said, we’ve got a lot of goals. With that in mind, I’ve been working on a budget for DH and I to follow this year. He’s not so big on budgeting. He’s more the “Just don’t spend it, and it’ll be fine” sort.

I need plans. I can’t help it.

So I’ve been working on a budget and trying to reduce our spending, but also keeping a tally on things like gas and groceries. I figure by the end of the month, I’ll have a better idea of what we spend, what we should spend, and I can adjust accordingly.

We’ve also realized (after a brief uh-oh moment that ended up okay) that my husband’s truck is going to have to be replaced. Kind of a bummer after JUST sending the final payment on my truck right before Christmas. We have also paid off the credit cards, so there’s that, but now I’m trying to trim money to dump in a new car fund. I’d love to be able to pay for the car outright and not have to have a monthly payment.

That’s probably a pipe dream, but I’m working on it. One of the things I AM doing is the 52 week savings plan. If you aren’t familiar with it, here’s the chart I made to use in my bullet journal. Its also a printable PDF you can use to try this yourself. I will admit, I put a couple dollars more in so far (I’m only on week 4) since I figured it wouldn’t hurt, and might help later if $25 a week is too steep later on in the year.

 

52-week-savings-challenge
Click on the picture to download the PDF.

 

In the end, you should have around $1000 saved! I can’t take credit for this idea – I found it when searching “52 Week Challenge” on Pinterest, but I didn’t save the pin. If you know where it came from, let me know and I’ll post the link! There are others like this, with you saving money by week (week 1, $1, Week 25, $25 and so on) but I liked this one because the biggest amounts were in the middle of the year – not the beginning or end (when I am likely to have less money because of the holidays.)

Do you have any other tips for savings or budgets? I’d love to hear them!

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Plan, New Budget

  1. I’m more of a ‘just don’t spend it’ saver as well. Unfortunately, with an old house, old cars, a dog and a teenage girl, who all have the ability to sense when there’s an extra dime about, find ways to spend it.

    Like

  2. Why not save a ton of money and buy a used car instead of a new one?

    For us our goal is to always be able to live on one income so for the past year-and-a-half my husband’s paycheck has gone almost exclusively into 401k and our health care benefits, and now we’re just used to it. It puts more pressure on me as the primary Breadwinner but it’s also really great to see how much faster the retirement account is growing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’re still debating about the car. Really, it mostly boils down to the fact that all the used cars either of us has ever owned have ended up costing more in maintenance long term than buying a new car we have saved for.

      Like

      1. I’ve heard the “certified pre-owned” from the dealer can be a nice middle ground. That’s what we’re thinking about doing when we upgrade to a hybrid, so we can still have the warranty, etc. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

