Herbed Potato Bake

If you know me at all, then you know that one of my great loves in life are the Two Fat Ladies. Seeing as I just spent almost 4 days sitting on the couch with the flu, I’ve watched my box set of their show completely through (we won’t discuss how often I’ve watched them). One of the things they fix is a scalloped-potato kind of dish. Seeing as I didn’t have their recipe, and the details were a bit fuzzy, as my temperature at that time was…. um… bad…. I sort of made one up this evening. It went FAR better than my attempt to recreate their rabbit recipe a few years ago.

My husband actually said how much he liked it three times. THREE! This is the man who actually doesn’t like potatoes much, so I’m definitely keeping this recipe!

Its was really easy, which makes it even better.

img_6000

First, I used five large baking potatoes. I didn’t weigh them, but they weren’t HUGE, just large. Peel them all, and then either slice as thin as you can, or put a mandolin over a large bowl filled about halfway with water, and slice away. If you use the mandolin, be careful. Mandoline’s are SHARP!

img_6001

Once I did this, I topped off the water since not all the potatoes were covered, and then put them to the side. I preheated the oven to 400 and pulled out an 8″ x 8″ metal pan.

I then put together my spice mixture. My measurements are approximate, because I have a bad habit of not measuring. Feel free to adjust these to suit your taste! I put garlic powder, onion powder, a little season salt, a lot of dried parsley, a little paprika, savory, tarragon, and sage into the bowl with some salt and pepper and mixed it up. Once that was ready, I set it aside as well.

img_6004

By now, the oven was halfway to preheated, and I was ready to assemble.

I decided that since the whole thing really consisted of only a few ingredients, it was time to use the good stuff.

The good olive oil, I mean. Dafni is REALLY good stuff. I mean, really good. If I had unlimited cash, I’d use this all the time. And they are really lovely people to boot. We’ve had the balsamic vinegar and olive oil dipping combo too and it is equally awesome. I mean, really, whatever they have is great. I always want to buy half the things I see, but I usually can’t afford but one, if that. Definitely try them out if you see them. (For the record, I’m not getting paid to say that. I just really love their stuff.)

Anyhoo – I put a good couple tablespoons in the bottom of the pan, and then drained my potato slices, dumping them into a large tea towel to help dry them off a little before I began to put them in a layer in the pan. They don’t need to be super dry – just keep them from being drippy.

img_6005

Once you have a layer in (You’re going to do 5), sprinkle the top with the herb mixture, and then drizzle a little olive oil over the whole thing. I didn’t measure the olive oil here – if I had to guess, maybe a couple teaspoons. It isn’t much.

img_6006

Then continue building the layers just like this until you get to the top. I put a handful of leftover shredded cheese on top, but honestly, it didn’t need it at all. You can just put a little extra oil on top and herbs, or just oil. Your choice, really.

img_6008

If its heaped high, don’t worry. It will cook down, so its okay – just as long as it all stays in the pan!

Cover it with foil, and put it in the oven for about 45 minutes. Take off the foil and cook another 25. If you want to check for doneness, just insert a knife into  he middle. If it slides through easily, you’re good.

img_6010

You could easily adjust this to make a bigger pan of potatoes if needed. Like i said, it got rave reviews from the normally potato-indifferent husband, so I’ll take it!

Herbed Potato Bake

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 5 large potatoes
  • olive oil
  • 2 T parsley
  • 1/4 t season salt
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t onion powder
  • 1 t tarragon
  • 1/2 t rosemary
  • 1/2 t paprika
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1/2 t rubbed sage
  • 1/2 t savory

Directions:

  1. Peel and slice potatoes thinly into a bowl of cool water. Set aside.
  2. Measure and mix the spices in a small bowl.
  3. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  4. Drain potatoes and pour into a tea towel, drying potatoes.
  5. Pour 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil into bottom of an 8″ x 8″ metal pan. Place potatoes in overlapping rows to cover the bottom of the pan in a solid layer.
  6. Sprinkle with 1-2 t of herb mixture and 1-2 t of olive oil.
  7. Repeat until all potatoes are gone (around 5 layers).
  8. Put 1 tablespoon oil over top of potatoes and cover tightly with foil.
  9. Bake 45 minutes, then uncover and bake an additional 25 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

